KAFUNTA GUEST FEEDBACK

Who can better describe what it is like to stay with us other than our actual guests? We share here the comments left in our guestbook, located in the lounge at Kafunta River Lodge. Anyone can write in it, whatever they think of their experience.

Alternatively, you can also read the reviews left on Trip Advisor. 

Darren & Liz

September 2023

England & Wales, UK

This was our third visit to Kafunta and it was every bit as good as we remembered. 

The Kafunta pod is still my favourite of anywhere in the world! 

Thank you again to all the team. 

Pat & Jaqui

september 2023

Canada

We’ve never been anywhere in Africa so Zambia as our first experience will be lasting! 

Thank you to all of the staff for showing us your beautiful country & people!

Travis & Melanie

September 2023

Zambia

Kafunta team!!

We have had an amazing time! The best place to have spent our honeymoon!

Food was always good, your hospitality amazing and the game drives were top!!

Thank you all so much for making it a very memorable trip & experience! We will be back!

Peter, Mary, Amanda, Alex, Richard, Ashley, Emmie & Anto

september 2023

UK

To all at Kafunta – Thank You!

We have had the most perfect stay – 3 generations who have travelled from NE England. The food, service, attention to detail, kindness shown to our children (thank you Precious), the spa, views, and more – all have been wonderful. 

A huge shout out to our wonderful guiding team – Cannan, Joseph, Paul and Bright, who showed their expertise and patience on every drive. They knew exactly what we needed from each trip and delivered it with so much passion and humour, teaching us the language as we went!

Zikomo to you all!

Priscilla

September 2023

Australia

Thank you to everyone at Kafunta and Three Rivers for looking after us all so well and giving us an experience of a lifetime. 

I LOVED the star bed and thoroughly enjoyed your excellent hospitality. 

The safaris were just stunning. I was so thrilled to see so many animals and learn so much about them from our simply fabulous guide – Joseph. He is the best!!

 

We will recommend you to all our friends in Australia!

Popat & Teli

August 2023

Zambia & uK

Dear Kafunta Team, 

I’m lost for words. You have made this one of the most memorable experiences for my family. The kids have said this is the best holiday EVER!

Superb service, and attention to details. Nothing is ever too much trouble. A special thanks to front of house – Kolo, Betty, Precious – remarkable women! Go girl power!

Our guide Joseph who managed to find us everything we wanted to see – lions, leopards, elephants, etc… Paul the spotter – incredible talent! 

The food service is amazing!! Well done – this place is a hidden gem!

Hope we can come back again one day. 

Heather, steve, Evan & Paige

August 2023

USA

Dear Kafunta Team, 

Thank you dearly for accommodating our family and our unique needs on this trip. It has been a fantastic stay that we will carry in our hearts and minds forever. 

The lodge, the people & the environment are absolutely unforgettable. We cannot thank you enough for a wonderful stay. 

Sandy

August 2023

Australia

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Kafunta River Lodge and Three Rivers Camp. The atmosphere was amazing and Joseph was a wonderful guide. 

Highly recommended experience!

Klara, Andrea, Michaela & Petra

August 2023

Austria

Thank you for the most wonderful stay. We had such a wonderful time here and saw lots of beautiful animals. We took beautiful pictures of the wilderness and had a great adventure.

You are most welcoming and caring. Huge thanks to Joseph, the best safari guide ever.
Thank you so much for the experience!

Antonio

August 2023

Portugal

This is the best safari park I know for leopards in all Africa. The lodge is magnificent, food is superb and the staff is very pleasant, helpful and treat us like family. 

Despite my previous plans I decided that, definitely, I will be back next year!

From the bottom of my heart, thank you so much for the friendship I received. God bless you all. 

Catherine & Mary

jULY 2023

England & Wales, UK

What an amazing place! Our stay here has been so much better than we ever imagined. Thank you to all the staff for making us so welcome.

Our safari drives were amazing, so many animals under the beautiful African sky!


Best wishes!

Janet & Alan

JUly 2023

UK

Staying with you at Kafunta River Lodge was truly an experience never to be forgotten – beyond all expectation! Thank you to all your staff – everyone here – who has made our trip so special. Best wishes!

Nelda, Heather, Brend & Liliana

jULY 2023

USA

To Andrew, Wilson, Betty + all the staff at Kafunta!

Thank you for making our trip here so lovely and memorable. Your kindness will leave a lasting impression to our entire family. Andrew’s knowledge of all plants and animals, and the way in which he taught us about Zambia, was both educational and interesting, and made us wanting to stay forever!

We appreciate the attention to details, the smiles, and the positive experience, which is so hard to find these days. 

Thank you!

Ray & CAtherine

JUNE 2023

uK

Where to start? To Joseph, just wow!! You were amazing, an absolute encyclopedia. My ribs have healed nicely, thank you!! Wilson, how on earth do you find a creature so small in the pitch dark black at 20kmph?? And don’t say torch! Shaun, I envy your adventure to come. Stick with it. I think you will be excellent. Kolo, are you wise? Thank you for being my mum!! I ate all 3 anyway. 🤣 Precious, thank you for all you did. I’m sorry you missed the cake. Ruth, maybe next time, I really wanted a massage. Betty, what can I say to my birthday twin. I think I will miss you most. You are a bundle of fun and mischief that I will never forget. To those that I have not mentioned: thank you for your behind-the-scenes efforts that made this so memorable. You are not forgotten! I cannot express my thanks enough.

James & Harriet

JUNE 2023

UK

What a beautiful lodge and position with the most lovely and professional staff. Thank you for giving us a memorable and once-in-a-lifetime experience. Ernest and Kevin were fantastic and provided us with the best game-viewing experience that we could have hoped for! South Luangwa has a very special place in our hearts. Thank you all for sharing it with us, it is a complete privilege. Best wishes to all!

Barbara, Klaus, Susan & Wolfgang

JUNE 2023

Germany

We had a wonderful time at Kafunta River Lodge and Three Rivers Camp. Dear Anke, all your employees are new friends for us. We had a very very friendly and professional service, “in-house” and in the park. The organization was perfect at all moments. Andrew is a most excellent guide, not only about the animals. We enjoyed these five days very much. Zikomo to all!

Astrid

JUNE 2023

Germany

Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday all of you gave me. I felt being at home with you and wish I could stay longer. Thank you very much for your hospitality and the everyday warm welcome when we came back from the game drives. My best wishes to all of you and I hope to come back.

Kurt & Anne-Marie

JUNE 2023

Georgia, USA

To all the Kafunta River Lodge staff! Thank you so much for everything! We had a wonderful time here during our stay, and you made us feel most welcome. Truly a wonderful experience. You are all very professional and cheerful, and a pleasure to be around. Thank you!

Stephan

JUNE 2023

Germany

Thanks a lot for hosting our 10th photogroup here in the Valley. Like always everyone of you did a fantastic job. The sightings were outstanding!! So many wild dogs this time. Looking forward to coming back with my guests next year.

Gail

JUNE 2023

Massachussetts, USA

All 3 camps are fabulous in their own ways. Staff everywhere is GREAT! Met some marvellous people who are guests and had great FUN ON all the drives, even when (or especially when) we broke down. Best to all!

Rosemary & Charlie

MAY 2023

Melbourne, Australia

We had an excellent time for 9 days at Kafunta. The accommodation, food, and staff were excellent John was an excellent guide. We would highly recommend this place to any prospective client. Thank you very much!

Sybille & Dieter

JUNE 2023

Germany

Thank you for one of the best experiences we had in Africa! Thanks to the whole team and your never-tiring attention and the way you let us feel welcome. Thanks to Betty, Kolo and Solomon! Great sightings and one day the pontoon and the roads will work perfectly. For us, a stay to remember for the rest of our lives.

Suzannah & Karen

MAY 2023

Boston & DC, USA

Thank you for an amazing stay! This place really runs like clockwork. We have never stayed any place like this before. Our guide Joseph was amazing, smart and so funny! Our spotter Kevin has an incredible eye and is a really nice guy! We hope he passes all his exams to level 1 guide soon! All the staff was so pleasant and helpful. Special shout out to Kolo & Betty! So lovely. We saw so many amazing things, more than we ever dared to wish for. We hope to come back and stay at the bush camps! Thanks again!

Geoff

MAY 2023

UK

What a wonderful 10 nights I have had at Kafunta River Lodge.

I lived in Zambia 40 years aog and South Luangwa was on my wish list ever since. It has exceeded all my expectations. Well done to NatureTrek for guiding me here, well done to all the staff for such wonderful hospitality – and no little humour. But most of all thank you Solomon who has guided me with such patience, good humour and amazing knowledge. It has been immense. Thank you!

Sotiris & Vicky

APRIL 2023

Greece

It was the best we have done so far, and we have done a lot… Excellent experience, amazing service, wonderful people. All the employees have served us the best way. There are no words to describe what we have lived. Thank you so much and soon we will be here again with many friends!! You are the BEST!

Tika & Shiva

May 2023

Zambia

Beyond amazing experience here at Kafunta. Joseph tore it up and went above and beyond. We had a once in a lifetime experience and have collected so many memories that will stay with us forever.

Thank you Kafunta for taking such good care of us!

Katie

APRIL 2023

Zambia/United States

Wow! What an incredibly special trip this has been for me! After a very difficult few months, I came here for rest and a time of soul refreshment. These past few days have been so healing and restorative to my soul! I have absolutely fallen in love with this place – the lodge, your staff, the beauty of South Luangwa!! Thank you for the outstanding service, care, and attention to details – you made my stay the most perfect experience I could have ever asked for! And Joseph – thanks for making my first ever safari after 10 years of living in Africa amazing! Im’ leaving this place feeling like a different person (and feeling like all of you are family)! I will definitely be back in dry season for the lions & leopards!

Gill & Tom

april 2023

United Kingdom

To all the team at Kafunta, Thank you for the most wonderful safari experience. Everything was perfect from the comfort and hospitality at the lodge – and delicious food – to the awe-inspiring landscapes and spectacular wildlife. A special thank you to Ernest, our guide, whose expertise and knowledge were hugely appreciated. He gave us a varied and comprehensive week of game drives during which the wildlife sightings exceeded our expectations by far. We couldn’t be happier and extend our thank you to everyone at Kafunta. We hope to come back one day  and will recommend you to all our friends!

CLAIRE

APRIL 2023

United Kingdom

These few days in South Luangwa have been truly magical: birds in stunning breeding plumage; elephants around every corner wading in the long grass; gorgeous sunsets across to the escarpment and the added excitement of slithering through deep mud and thunderstorms! A huge thank you to the management and staff here at Kafunta who, with consummate professionalism, care and kindness, provide a warm welcome and every comfort which allows us to explore and enjoy this very beautiful and special place in Africa. Particular thanks to Joseph on this visit for the wrath of information and his expert guiding which has so enhanced our experience. What wonderful memories we take with us. Until next time and with gratitude!

Eleanor, Rob, Ollie, Sarah, Tom, Davine, Priyanka, Jack & Sophie

april 2023

United Kingdom

Thank you for an amazing stay! We have all had a trip of a lifetime. All staff members have been extremely helpful and so friendly. The service has been amazing and the food… wow! We loved the variety of food and everything was delicious. You made our trip extra special by pulling out all the stops for our anniversary and in the planning of Tom & Davine’s engagement proposal. A special thanks to John and Ernest for being the best guides and for the best safaris! We would love to return. PS: the rooms were great!

Jane & Dave

APRIL 2023

United Kingdom

To all who greet us with a welcome, warm smile, thank you! But an enormous thank you to Ernest whose knowledge, expertise and patience has rewarded us with the most amazing sightings and experiences! South Luangwa is a most beautiful part of the world and we hope to return in the future!

Lindsay & Bron

april 2023

Australia

Thank you for an incredible experience. We loved the accommodation & the main area. Pool was lovely & the safaries were exceptional. The guides are so knowledgeable and accommodating. Andrew was our guide. We will definitely be recommending your lovely place to our friends and family in Australia. Best wishes for the future.

Denis & Edna

APRIL 2023

Norfolk, UK

Paradise! Couldn’t wish for anything more. Staff the best we’ve known anywhere. Game drives were wonderful with the master, Martin. So much knowledge. We are sad to be leaving.

Graham & Lottie

april 2023

Australia

To everyone at Kafunta, Thank you for an incredible stay. We have loved every part of our time here: food, accommodation, safari drives but most of all the people!  Once again, thank you all so much!

EMMANUEL

JANUARY 2023

Lusaka, Zambia

Beautiful place this is, everyone is real! Great staff Kafunta has, charming and amazing. Game drives and guides are fantastic. It’s been a special place and am definitely coming back to Kafunta. Thank you!

CLAIRE

DECEMBER 2022

Kansas, USA

What an incredible stay! I feel very fortunate to have seen lots more of Zambia’s beauty and to have had such a lovely stay here. Thank you!

Nicole & Hubert

November 2022

Lyon, France

Un séjour fantastique dans un lieu magique, avec une équipe formidable! Une mention spéciale pour Precious qui a pris soin de nous tous les jours. Les game drives avec Joseph (et Bright, le spotter) ont été exceptionnels. Merci à tous à Kafunta. Bonne continuation et au plaisir de revenir rapidement.

Arnold & Tiku

DECEMBER 2022

Lusaka, Zambia

Thank you for hosting us. We really enjoyed our stay at your lodge. My dream came true. Your staff was amazing, great team, our tour guide as well. Wow!! Hospitality at its best level. We look forward to come through next season. South Luangwa has been amazing.

Sign up to receive instant access to our in depth Zambian Safari Planning Guide. You’ll receive our monthly safari updates, inspiring stories and exclusive tips and goodies, right from the heart of South Luangwa.